THE FIRST CHRISTIANS ON THE TERRITORY OF MODERN RUSSIA

THE FIRST CHRISTIANS ON THE TERRITORY OF MODERN RUSSIA

The project implies work in several directions:

Research of the basic archaeological monuments (according to the task).
Here, on Tamansky peninsula, the well-known Tmutarakan was situated. This is the place where the antique and the Old Russian cultures met naturally. Here the Abbot of Kievo-Pechersk monastery in 1078 — 1088, Nikon Pecherskiy (the Great), the chronicler, the builder of the Monastery in the name of PreSaint Bogoroditsa in Tmutarakan pursued his activities. Moreover, it was on Tamansky peninsula where there appeared the first Christian settlements on the present territory of the Russian Federation, the archaeological researches in Golubitskaya village (Russia), a site of ancient settlement of Ilyichevsk (Trebizond) and the settlement «Za Rodinu!» (Hrisaliska residence) point to the fact.

The site of ancient settlement of Ilichevsk is the main monument of early Christianity on the territory of present Russia. Now the most part of the fortress is explored. Thanks to long-term and accurate excavations carried out by E.Y.Nikolaeva we do not only have a rich material on this theme, but also we can predict the discovery of new objects (bronze workshops, churches etc.). Further studying of the monument can throw light on a number of problems. We suppose to conduct works with the assistance of E.Y.Nikolaeva as the supervisor of studies and the adviser to this direction of the project.

Renewal of works on Golubitskaya fortress is no less important. Some years later the fortress will be partially used as a modern cemetery, partially destroyed by economical activities and will undergo reconstruction. At the same time, only archeological excavations can throw light on the origin of Russes questions we are interested in.

Researches of the ancient Ghermonassa-Tamatarkha-Tmutarakan-Taman will be continuing. It is a unique monument on the territory of the former Soviet Union where all epoch from VII century BC and to the present are represented. Besides, here are also monuments of early Christians.

During the last decades there has appeared a lot of new data about the beginning of Christianity on the territory of our country. In the first place we talk about the excavations on Tamanskiy peninsula. A considerable quantity of the epigraphy data, inscriptions, and a number of written sources as well has been explored, rethought and put into circulation. Now the standard point of view on the beginning of Christianity in Russia in the Chersonese in 988 can be considered first of all as a traditional tribute. It is also not only a scientific question. The annalistic version of the events connected to the Christening of Russia appeared owing to a tendentious presentation of the fact by the Greek clergy of Desjatinnaya church in the middle of XI century. At the same time there is a number of the data pointing out to the fact that on the territory of Tamanskiy peninsula the Christianity appeared in I century BC, i.e. at the same time when the Christening of Rome occurred. It confirms one of the church traditions about St. Apostle Andrey Pervozvanniy preaching there during 40s on the territory of Bospor. Along with it, the archaeological data and the epigraphy sources show that the process of the Christening began in the I – II century extended, and V – VI centuries are already considered as the time of «the prevailing Christianity».

The second problem on which it is necessary to stop is the appearance of Russes on Tamanskiy peninsula in VI century. The island of Russes and the city of Russija (Rossia) are repeatedly mentioned by eastern chronists and geographers. In the IX century there was already a bishop in Russija. The most probable is localization of Russija at the present Golubitskaya station. According to a number of researchers the role of Russes from Taman in stating the Kiev Russia is considerably bigger than it is considered to be. A number of scientists connect Russes' campaigns to Amastria, Surozh, Tsargrad, and to the persons of Askold and Dir. Thus, it turns out that having grasped Kiev in 864, Askold and Dir not only brought the terms of «Russia» and «Russes», but also «Christianity».

The third problem on which it is necessary to stop, is directly connected with the two previous ones. The Bospor's Christening began at the same time as of Rome and Constantinople. Moreover, there is a range of indirect data that Christian refugees could appear on Bospor even earlier than in Rome, anyway — not later than 69. They heard the sermon from the lips of St. Andrey Pervozvanniy, one of the Apostles, the pupil of the Christ.

So, on Taman there existed one of the first Apostolic Churches. And it was that Church which prepared the Christening of Russia in 988.

All these questions demand further studying, on the one hand, and on the other hand it is necessary to popularize this data as much as possible allowing others to look at the origin, the Christening of Russia, its place in a family of the Christian people.

Adress:
Moscow,
13 Electrodnaya st.,
bld. 4.
Location map
E-mail:
info@archae.ru
RSS

ПЕРВЫЕ ХРИСТИАНЕ НА ТЕРРИТОРИИ СОВРЕМЕННОЙ РОССИИ

Проект предполагает работу в нескольких направлениях:

Исследование важнейших с точки зрения поставленной задачи археологических памятников.
Именно здесь, на Таманском полуострове, и располагалась знаменитая Тмутаракань. Это место где самым непосредственным образом встретились античная и древнерусская культуры. Здесь подвизался Игумен Киево-Печерской обители в 1078 — 1088 гг. по Р.Х., Преподобный Никон Печерский (Великий), летописец, строитель Монастыря во Имя Пресвятой Богородицы в Тмутаракани. Более того, именно на Таманском полуострове, вообще появились первые христианские поселения на нынешней территории Российской Федерации, о чем свидетельствуют археологические раскопки в станице Голубицкая (Русия), Ильичевском городище (Трапезунда), поселке «За Родину!», (Резиденция Хрисалиска).

Ильичевское городище является важнейшим памятником археологии раннего христианства на территории нынешней России. В настоящее время большая часть крепости исследована. Благодаря многолетним и качественным археологическим раскопкам Э. Я. Николаевой мы не только имеем богатый материал по этой теме, но и можем прогнозировать выявление новых объектов (бронзолитейная мастерская, церковь и т. д.). Дальнейшее изучение памятника может пролить свет на ряд проблем. Предполагается проводить раскопки при участии Э. Я. Николаевой в роли научного руководителя и консультанта этого направления проекта.

Не менее важным является и возобновление археологических раскопок на крепости Голубицкая. Через несколько лет крепость частично будет использована под современное кладбище, а частично — уничтожена хозяйственной деятельностью и подвергнется застройке. В то же время, только археологические раскопки могут пролить свет на интересующие нас вопросы о происхождении Русов.

Будут продолжены исследования и на городище древней Гермонассы-Таматархи-Тьмутаракани-Тамани. Это единственный памятник на территории бывшего Советского Союза, где представлены все эпохи от VII  в. до н. э. и до современности. Кроме того, здесь есть и памятники ранних христиан.

В последние десятилетия появилось много новых данных о появлении христианства на территории нашей страны. Речь в первую очередь идет об археологических раскопках последних десятилетий на Таманском полуострове. Было исследовано, переосмыслено и введено в оборот большое количество эпиграфических данных, надписей, а так же ряд письменных источников. В настоящее время общепринятая точка зрения на появление христианства на Руси из Херсонеса в 988 г. может рассматриваться в первую очередь как дань традиции. И это вопрос не просто научный. Летописная трактовка событий, связанных с крещением Руси, возникла вследствие тенденциозного изложения фактов греческим духовенством Десятинной церкви в сер. XI в. В то же время существует ряд данных, что на территории Таманского полуострова христианство появилось уже в I  в. н. э., т.е в то же время, когда происходила христианизация Рима. Это подтверждает одну из церковных традиций, что в 40-е годы на территории Боспора проповедовал Св. Апостол Андрей Первозванный. Наряду с этим, археологические данные, эпиграфические источники показывают, что процесс христианизации, начавшийся в I–II веке расширяется, и V—VI вв. уже считаются временем «победившего христианства».

Вторая проблема, на которой необходимо остановиться — это появление на Таманском полуострове Русов уже в VI веке. Остров Русов и город Русия (Росия) неоднократно упоминаются восточными хронистами и географами. В IX в. в Русии уже есть епископ. Наиболее вероятной является локализация Русии в нынешней ст. Голубицкой. По мнению ряда исследователей роль Таманских Русов в сложении государства Киевская Русь значительно большая, чем принято считать. Ряд ученых связывает походы русов на Амастрию, Сурож, Царьград, а так же личности Аскольда и Дира именно с Таманскими Русами. Таким образом, получается, что, захватив в 864 году Киев, Аскольд и Дир не только принесли термин Русь, русы, но и христианство.

Третья проблема, на которой следует остановиться, непосредственно связана с двумя предыдущими. Христианизация Боспора начинается в то же время, что и в Риме и Константинополе. Более того, имеется ряд косвенных данных, что на Боспоре бежавшие христиане могли появиться даже раньше чем в Риме, в любом случае — не позже 69 года. Проповедь они слышат из уст одного из Апостолов, ученика Христа Св. Андрея Первозванного.

Итак, на Тамани существовала одна из первых Апостольских Церквей. И именно она явилась той Церковью, которая подготовила крещение Руси в 988 г.

Все эти вопросы с одной стороны требуют дальнейшего изучения, а с другой — следует максимально популяризировать эти данные, позволяющие по иному взглянуть на происхождение и христианизацию Руси, на ее место в семье христианских народов.

Телефоны:
+7 (499) 250-08-05
Электронная почта:
archae@mail.ru
Трансляция новостей RSS